“Oscar asked me if I had a pet peeve. I had to think about that.  And yes, I do.”

“And?”

 

“It’s the why question, Minnie.  Why did you do that?  Why would you even think about doing that? Why didn’t you do….”

 

“Yeah, everyone is a Monday morning quarterback. I guess to avoid that question, you should take the safe road.  Don’t do anything out of the ordinary.  Don’t make decisions that will come back to haunt you.  CYA.  Get it in writing.  Don’t take the sword.  Blame it on corporate policy.  Escalate.  Save face.  Keep a low profile.  Always follow protocol.”

 

“You forgot one: Live in fear.  Make a mistake, and your ass is grass.”

 

“What do you do to avoid the why question?   Would you rather be safe than sorry?  Does that fulfill your working life?”

 

“Nope.  I believe in following your best judgment, at the time of crisis.  And if I was wrong, then, I was wrong.  And if you ask me why, I will tell you that, at the time, it was my decision.  So up yours.”

 

“Doesn’t that make you vulnerable?”

“Hey, girl, we are all vulnerable.  If you owned a company, and you had a staff of people, working for you, would you prefer a puppet or a maverick?  Wouldn’t you look at the overall picture and choose the person who had the balls to stand on their principles and to take on the world?  Or would you hire those who were good little soldiers, and followed the standard operating procedures?”

 

“It’s important, Wolf, to follow company policy.  You don’t own the company.  You are employed, to do a job.  And if you are asked “why”, you better have an answer.”

 

“I am grateful for my job, Minnie. And I don’t deliberately make mistakes.   I mean, who does?  But if I do screw up, I think it is important to admit it and to move forward.  If that isn’t good enough, well, so be it.  And when I observe others who have been successful, I am the first to acknowledge the success.  There is nothing more solidifying nor exhilarating than celebrating a success, if it is shared with others.  Except, of course, a failure. That too, can be the catalyst for change.  And sometimes, a failure can be more important than success.  It’s what I call an “Aha” moment.”

“Did you have a failure today, Wolf?  Or a success?”

 

” You know what they say, you win a few and you lose a few. But I used my best judgment and decided to give the facility a much needed boost in morale.”

 

“Oh?”

 

“My umbrella hat, Minnie.  I wore it when I walked through the warehouse.  And threw kisses to everyone.”

 

“Why, Wolf, why?”

 

 

Wolf

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

