“I have been wondering, Wolf.  Do you really find your life fulfilling?  Or could you be in a rut? Do you get up every day and have the same old tired routine? Do you enjoy the day to day grind?  Or are you just the idiot that I think you are?”

“Not just an ordinary idiot, Minnie.  I am a world class idiot.”

“You live in a very small world, you know.  There is so much more out there.  Don’t you yearn for a better life?”

“OK.  I will entertain and address your questions.  Do I wish I had a better life?  Let’s just say that I wish I was younger.  That is not going to happen.  There is nothing I can do about it.  Time marches on. I have accepted that fact, along with my limitations, and am happy with it.”

“Don’t you ever wish you were rich?”

“You mean money?  What would I do with it?  Most likely, I would give it away.  That would make me happier, for someone else.  But for me?  Money would make me soft and lethargic.  I might even retire.  And lay around all day like a beached whale.  I have no interest in traveling around the world.  I have done that.  I don’t want a bigger house.  Less is more.  I guess I could buy more wine, but I don’t have to be rich to do that.  As long as I have enough money to pay my bills, have shelter and food, hey!  I am already rich.”

Don’t you have a passion that you want to fulfill before your time is up?”

“I am passionate about every moment.  For example, today the weather was spectacular.  Cool in the morning, blue sky, fluffy white clouds, and the trees are just starting to turn into their brilliant autumn colors.  As I drove to work, I looked at the trees and the horizon as if it was the first, or last, time I would ever see them again.”

“Don’t you ever get tired of seeing the same people, day after day, mostly at work, who perform the same tasks, just as you do?”

“Absolutely not. I love seeing, greeting and working with those people.  They are amazing and unique.  And so very lovable.  I wonder if they know how much joy they bring to my life.”

“Isn’t there anything you would change, if you could?”

“I can’t change the world.  I can’t bring peace to the globe.  I can’t stop wars and hunger and sickness.  But I can decide, each morning, if I will be happy with who I am, with what I have, and to make others in my small world, a little happier.”

“Is that enough?”

“It’s enough for me, Minnie.  But then, remember, I am the village idiot.”

 

Wolf

 

Leave a Reply

