What do people worry about?

Seems to me worrying is largely a waste of time.

It’s the little goof in the brain who says:  “Hey, you idiot.  The house needs cleaning.  And there you are, enjoying yourself with a glass of wine and a book.  Don’t you feel guilty?”

And the impending doom:  Ebola strikes in Dallas.  The terrorists are at your door. There is a severe thunderstorm alert for tonight.

Ok. So?  What can you do about any of that?  Stay away from Dallas?  Lock your door?  Pray that the t storms will pass you by?

As you age, your body starts to fall apart.  Oh, geez, I have a headache.  I wonder if I have a brain tumor?  My knees hurt when I walk.  I better stay home, take 2 aspirins and wait for the inevitable.

A body in motion…..

I don’t have enough money.

Ok. so what?  Do you know many people who have enough?  And what do they do with it?  Squirrel it away?  For a rainy day? Or just be thankful they can pay their bills?  And be happy with what they have.

I am in a dead end job.  I will never get anywhere.

Why stay if you feel that way?  Or could it be you?  And not the job?  A job is what you make it.  If it proves to be something you don’t enjoy, move on.

Nobody cares about me.  I need to find a soul mate, some one to take care of me.  If I don’t, I will always be alone in the world.

Are you kidding?  Take care of you?  There is no guarantee of a knight in shining armor to rescue Rapunzel from the tower.  Maybe that is the problem.  Get out of the tower and put on the armor.  Be the knight and you will never be alone.

I am afraid of failing…. I might get fired.   I will look like an idiot.  I can’t be myself.  What will people think of me?

Failure often brings success.  Getting fired brings opportunities.  There will always be those who think you are an idiot.  But don’t kid yourself.  Nobody thinks about you as much as you think they do.

Worry?  Wasted energy.  A day of worrying is more tiring than a day of doing the best you can, failing or not.

The days and months and years tick by.  Most of the things we worry about never happen. And at the end of your life, will you look back and remember what you worried about?  I doubt it.  It will be those days and minutes that you truly lived.  You looked worry in the eye and said:  “Buzz off.  Bring it on. I am going out in a blaze of glory.”

To be truly successful is to have lived your life to the fullest, whatever the circumstances. Do it. Enjoy the ride.

 

 

Wolf

 

Leave a Reply

