“I think I need to go to Ireland, Minnie. It’s time for me to reconnect with my past.”

“And just what would you do in Ireland?”

“Well, I would wear green jeans, dye my hair green, and go pubbing. And of course, I would look up my Grandfathers’ estate.  Felix McManus, the maverick of old Erin, the man who fought city hall, and married my grandmother.  Too bad she turned out to be a boozer.”

“And just how did you come to be?”

“Well, Felix passed on at an early age, after settling in Iowa.  Mary, my grandmother, moved to Minnesota, to meet some goof who she met on facebook…”

“Hey!  Come on, there was no facebook back then.”

“Oh yeah, well, I guess she was a mail order bride or something, and being half in the bag, she carted her 4 daughters up to the end of the civilized world, to Duluth, Minnesota, and remarried.”

“Then what?”

“My mother met my father, a lone survivor of the infamous 1900 flu outbreak, and they had 7 kids.  All of them were goofs, except for me, of course.”

“Oh for crazy!”

“Yeah, then I grew up, with an Irish Catholic mother, who went to church every day, and a wild, crazy father, who could be found at the Eagle’s club most of the time.  So there you have it.  On my mother’s side, a boozy matron.  On my father’s side, a wild and crazy boozer.  And me?  Well, did I really stand a chance at sanity?”

“So what happened to you?”

“I got married to a boozer, who died at an early age.  Then I moved to New Jersey, half blitzed, to begin a new life, and married crazy Jimbo.  We got married in Maryland, wearing our jeans and cowboy hats, and there was not a person in the world who thought we would last.”

“But you did.”

“Yeah.  We are still crazy, but as I think back, if you are crazy, you better marry someone crazy.  It can be a wild ride, but it sure is a hoot.”

“Is that what it is all about?  A hoot?”

“That it is, Minnie.  A hoot. A couple who laughs and hoots together, no matter what, is the couple who will stay together.”

“Then why this mission to go to Ireland?”

“Are you kidding?  I need a break from Jimmy and the cats.  Geez, they drive me crazy!”

 

Wolf

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

