“You know what, Minnie?  I hate do wop.  All those 60s bands put that do wop in their music, when they ran out of lyrics.  And another thing:  disco music. Gotta get some hot stuff baby, this evening, and all those strobe lights.  Thank goodness, we have evolved.”

“What about hip hop and grunge?”

“Not my cup of tea. As a matter of fact, I don’t even like most country music, and especially not blue grass.”

“So you are stuck in the 80s, aren’t you Wolf?  Eric Clapton, Billy Joel, Elton John, Aerosmith and Def Leppard. You goof. You probably turn on the oldies, and relish in Hotel California, Free bird and Losing my religion.  You just might be a left over hippie.”

“If I could meet anyone, it would be Neil Young.  Or wait:  Mick Jagger, Mick Fleetwood, or David Bowie.  Then again, if they were alive, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison or Buddy Holly.  And of course, the still living Tom Petty, Cat Stevens and Bruno Mars.”

“How did Bruno get in there?

“He sneaked in and captured my heart.”

“No country?  Not any?”

“Well, the Dixie Chicks, Willie, and Tim McGraw are awesome.  And I have to admit, Martina and good old Johnny Paycheck are also super.  But, given a choice, I would have to opt for a roaring rendition of Whitney, singing the national anthem, or Patti LaBelle, singing, “Don’t cry for me Argentina, or Roberta Flack, ‘The first time ever I saw your face.’ And then there is KD Lang. Constant craving.  And Michael Jackson, ‘Billie Jean.’  And one of my all time favs, Louis Armstrong: ” What a wonderful world.”

“Do you think music may have affected your life, Wolf?”

“Can you keep a secret, Minnie?”

“Uhm.”

“I love music and sometimes, I even like do wop, country and blue grass.  Let’s have a glass of wine, put on Kim Carnes and listen to “Betty Davis Eyes.”

“So you had a bad day, Wolf?”

“You got that right, Minnie.  So turn up the radio, Turn up the radio
I need the music, gimme some more
Turn up the radio
I wanna feel it, got to gimmie some more”

“Yeah, ok, Wolf, put another dime in the record machine.  And let’s dance.”

“Dance?  You got it Minnie:   The day is over, and we need to dance to this Wednesday,  a day of dancing and chancing.  As Garth would say:

And now I’m glad I didn’t know
The way it all would end, the way it all would go
Our lives are better left to chance
I could have missed the pain, but I’d have had to miss the dance.”

“Ok, Wolf, put on your red shoes and we will dance the blues.”

Wolf

 

 

Leave a Reply

