“How was your day off, Wolf?”

“Ridiculous.  I spent half the day on the phone, on hold, waiting to sign up for a health plan.”

“Hmm.  So you lost your benefits, eh?  Why do companies do that to old people?”

“Money, honey.  They figure old people get sick and they don’t want to be stuck with the bill.”

“You know, if you didn’t get sick, you wouldn’t need insurance.”

“How insightful, Minnie.”

“Are you ready for Thanksgiving, Wolf?”

“No.  I have been giving it some thought, and I don’t want a turkey this year.”

“What the hell?”

“I have always had turkey and all that stuff on Thanksgiving, and I wonder why.”

“Because of the pilgrims.”

“They didn’t roast a turkey, you idiot. They had no refrigerators to store the left over bird, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes and dressing.  And how the heck do you roast a turkey on a fire pit?”

“I can’t believe you would forego a traditional favorite of yours and not cook a turkey.  I thought you liked turkey.”

“Yes, but if I recall last year, we had turkey for a week.  I pigged out every day on left overs and blew up like a blimp.  Why don’t they sell small turkeys?  For 2 people?”

“We could go out and eat.”

“Not this year.  Snow storm on the way.”

“How can that be?  It is 70 degrees right now.”

“So who says we have to wait for Thursday to celebrate?  Why don’t we take a drive to Reading, PA tomorrow, have a nice dinner and see their Christmas tree.”

“Are you kidding?  It’s all over the news.  Reading has the ugliest tree in the history of the free world.”

“Ok, here’s the plan: Tomorrow is shopping day.  I will hit the liquor store, and the grocery store,  and come home with a couple of turkey TV dinners, and a prime rib roast.  You can have your turkey and I will suffer through the prime rib.”

“But turkey is healthier than prime rib.”

“Who cares?  I have health insurance.”

 

Wolf

 

 

Leave a Reply

