“Tomorrow you go back to work, Wolf, and everyone will ask you, ‘Did you have a nice vacation?  Did you go anywhere?  Did you do anything special?'”

“And I will answer like I always do:  Yes, yes, and yes.”

“What?  You didn’t go anywhere, or do anything special:   liar, liar, pants on fire.”

“Who says you have to leave your house to go away or to do anything special?  My mind took a break, Minnie, and took me on a relaxed trip, away from my normal routine.   I hibernated like a bear, ate like a bird, slept like a kitten, and laughed like a hyena.  I guess I was born to be wild.”

“At least you could have prepared for Christmas.”

“Yeah, I could have put up the tree, but Puff Daddy would climb it and ultimately destroy it.  I could have baked, but I am on  a no sugar diet.  I could have gone shopping and bought gifts, but my gifts aren’t limited to Christmas.  I am determined to celebrate Christmas in a new way, Minnie:  A day of peace and hope.”

“You know, Wolf, ever since you started on your ridiculous diet, you seem to have lost your zest for life.”

“You may be right.  I had to go to the store today, to buy cat food, and the store was loaded with baked goods, Christmas ornaments, gigantic tray of cheese, shrimp and fruit.  I left with cat food and a roast for Christmas dinner, along with a donation for the less fortunate.”

“But this is Christmas, the busiest, most stressful time of the year.”

“It can be, but only if you allow it.  And I am guilty as charged.  I allowed it. And missed the whole meaning of Christmas.”

“It took you all these years to realize what you had been missing?”

“Some people are slow learners, Minnie.  I may just be the slowest learner ever.  But the bright light is now shining, and it is a star.   For unto us, a child is born.  Unto us a son is given. And His name will be called Wonderful counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”

“Ok, Wolf, you celebrate how you want to, and I will celebrate in my way.”

“And that’s the way it should be, Minnie.  My way may not be your way.  That’s ok.  Just don’t ask me to take down the outside decorations in January.”

 

Wolf

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

