“Are you ready, Wolf?”

“For what, Minnie?”

“For going back to your normal life.”

“I believe I am.  I heard we might get some snow this week, so I found an old pair of boots.  They must be at least 20 years old.”

“What the hell?  You aren’t going to wear those old tan boots, are you?”

“Yes, I am.  And my chicken butt hat.”

“You know, you could take this opportunity to grow up a little, and act dignified.”

“Actually, I resolve to be more crazy than ever.  I am tired of being sad. It rattles my bones and shakes my balls.”

“Oh for crazy!”

“Exactly.  I love crazy.”

“How do you think you will hold up when your friends ask you how you are doing?”

” Of course, I will thank them for their sympathy and for comforting the old goat.  I think I will tell them I am doing fine.  I am alive, I am back on my game, and break out in song:  Don’t cry for me, Argentina.  Cry instead for Green Bay and Indy.”

“Seriously, are you really ok?”

“I have lost a husband, a mother, father, nephew, 3 brothers, aunts, friends, and now a sister.  I am no stranger to loss.  They say, “only the good die young”,  so I believe I will experience a lot more losses, in my life.”

“Isn’t there anything we can do about that?”

“No, we are all candles in the wind.  And as long as I am here, I intend to burn out the day and to burn out the night.”

“While you are burning, Wolf, can’t you at least do me one favor?”

“What?”

“Buy some new boots.”

 

Wolf

 

Leave a Reply

