“Hey, Minnie, where do you want to be in 5 years from now?”

“Alive?  Still kicking?  Isn’t that enough?”

“Let’s assume that you will still be around, ok?  So what is it you want to accomplish in the next 5 years?”

“I don’t really want to think about that kind of stuff, you idiot.  Remember, I am a senior citizen.  I have lived my life.  I want to coast. drift, relax and take it easy.”

“Are you saying your life is generally over?  That what you accomplished in the past, will be enough?  You are an old dog, who can’t learn new tricks?  That you have given up?  And because you are old and goofy, you no longer want to join the human rat race, and make a difference?”

“If you are talking about working, I am tired of that.  The work place is full of young kids, who are bright and ambitious and intelligent.  They look at the old folk and wonder what the hell are they doing, still working.  I can’t compete on their level.”

“Granted.  But who says you have to compete?  When you age, you could become a mentor, a supporter or even better, an ancient dynamo.  And if you have a job that you truly love, it just might make your life happier and more fulfilling.”

“Are you kidding?  Working?  I don’t want to get up at dawn, commute to work, and spend 8 hours of my day in a corporate environment, and drag myself home every night, just to get up and do it all over again.”

“What would you rather do?”

“I sleep til 10am.  I eat breakfast.  I go shopping.  I play bingo.  I clean the house.  I watch TV. You know, there are wonderful reruns of the Beverly Hillbillies, at 2pm every day.  I watch my soaps.  I play games on facebook, I collect my social security check every 3rd Wednesday of the month,,  and I wait for you to get home so you can fix dinner.”

“And in 5 years from now?”‘

“Just what are you getting at, Wolf?  If I am living my dream, what’s it to you?”

“I don’t judge, Minnie.  I am happy for you, if that is what you want to do, now, and in 5 years from now.  I guess retirement is a goal, for many.   And that is a formidable goal.   And then, there are others….”

“Like you, Wolf?  When will you know when it is time to give it up and live the good life?”

“When it is no longer good, Minnie.  I give it at least another 5 years.”

 

Wolf

 

 

Leave a Reply

