“Well, well, well, you made it through the day, Wolf.”

“I can honestly say that I had the worst night of my life, no sleep, suffering, pain and a wild sense of doom and demise.  But… I got up, and toughed it out and went to work.”

“Did you feel lousy?”

“Yeah, at times.  But I learned long ago, that pain management is not about not having pain.  It is about looking beyond the pain, and setting your mind on something positive.”

“What was positive?”

“A training session.  Focusing on something new.  Learning…. and forgetting what I was experiencing.  It happened to be quite enlightening.  If only for an hour or so, I forgot about my discomfort.  Amazingly, it lasted throughout most of the day.   I love it when the mind beats the crap out of the body, and wins.”

“So, how are you feeling tonight?”

“About 4pm, it started up again, the heart palpitations, the pain in the abdomen and back.  I was not looking forward to another painful night.  I said to myself, “Hey Wolf, What happens if the suffering surfaces again tonight?”

“And?”

“The monkey on my back said: “Hey, little chicken B, light up.  Have a cig.  Let’s smoke and relax.”

“Sounds enticing.”

“It is much more than enticing.  It is a tug of war between what we want and what we love to hate.  Or is it hate to love?  Whatever.  But we are all creatures of our own device.”

“Did you smoke?”

“I did, in my mind, just like Jimmy Carter did.  Is lust the same as doing it?”

“So you are still not smoking, still suffering and still working?”

“Let me say this, Minnie:  When we hurt, we feel that no one could ever hurt as much as we do.  When we change, we feel we are the only ones who have experienced the uncomfortable consequences of the change.  And when we work, long past the normal retirement age, we love what we are doing and will continue to work until we are no longer effective, healthy or sane.”

“Like the song says, Wolf, 2 out of 3 ain’t bad.”

“Tomorrow is the first day of spring, Minnie and snow is in the forecast.  I did not expect to feel good today, but, for the most part, I did.  I have worked for over 40 years, met hundreds, if not thousands of people, all across the USA, and you know what?  I have never met a person I didn’t like.”

“You really are insane, aren’t you, Wolf?”

“Absolutely. And that is the secret ingredient to my life.”

“Do you have any words of- wisdom for those striving for a fulfilling life?”

“Sing, even if you can’t carry a tune.  Dance, whenever you feel like it.   Laugh, as often as you can.  Acknowledge and celebrate the successes of others,  Give whatever you have to those who need it. Reach out and touch those who are hurting.  And just be yourself.    A life worth living is not measured in years, but in moments.”

“What is the end result of being yourself?”
Who cares?  It just is.  And that, my friends, is what it is all about:  It’ s  your life. Live it. Love it. Celebrate it.  Life is not always reality.  It can be an illusion.  Separate the yolks from the whites and make a quiche.”

“Good night Wolf.  I can’t take any more of this insanity.”

“Me either.  Let’s raise a toast to the first day of spring, 2015,  as we raise our glasses, singing, “whiskey for my  men, beer for our horses.”

 

 

Wolf

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

