So, Mary tells me: Ok, if you want to be more positive about your job, do these things every day for a month and you will be amazed at how your attitude about working has improved.

Think about 3 positive things that happened today.

Do a random act of kindness.

And I forget the 3rd thing.  I think it had something to do with meditation.

I said, “Yeah. Wonderful. Great.  How lovely.  Here’s what I do to stay positive:

I have a full pot of coffee ready to roll first thing in the morning.

None of those one cup at a time jobs for this girl.

I have a hell of a time getting the pot ready the night before, after stopping for a few night caps.

Why would I want to dink around with the coffee pot every time I need another cup?

I say:  Pot is meant to be enjoyed, in totality. Oops, we were discussing coffee, right?

Next:  Take the long way home… or to work.

We are all creatures of habit.  We get up at the same time, have our routines, and when it is time to leave, we hurry to work, and then at quitting time, hurry home.

Not this cow girl.

Do something new and different every day.

Give yourself time and space.

If you work inside all day, as most of us do, get out doors, winter, spring, summer and fall, and look…. really look at what is happening in nature.

Today was a good example.  Hot, steamy and sticky.  How very wonderful to get out of the car, walk around and sweat my ass off, as I walked through the parking lot to get into the pub just in time to get hit by a stray thunderstorm. I walked into the pub, soaking wet, singing All my friends know the low rider.

And my third tip to happiness is to quit worrying about how you look.  If you are a dog, there isn’t much you can do about it.  Go ahead, put on lipstick, if you are a pig.  Nobody really cares.  It’s a lot more fun to be around those who have accepted how they look, and who don’t pretend to be something they are not. Once a goof, always a goof. Look beyond yourself, and reach out to others.

The first step in just about every program or process is all about acceptance.

So, my advice is this:

Be yourself for the next 30 days, whatever that is.

Make no excuses for who or what you are, and just enjoy whatever happens.

I don’t know if it will make you happier about your job, but I will guarantee, that you will have had a lot more fun and enjoyment, than you ever thought possible.

 

Wolf

 

Leave a Reply

