Doing the needful thing, I headed towards the watering hole at 5pm.

What the hell?

I was the only one there.

Then a bearded patron zombie in and introduced himself as Don.

Hello Don.

My name?

Chicken Buttafucco.

Chicken Butt for short.

Don wanted a 6 pack to go.

The bartender said:  Want a bag?

Well, that led me to my standard response:

Paper, plastic or old?

Don decided to hang around.

Can you blame him?

Several other patrons sauntered in.

One was an old friend.

Hey, girl!

Where you been?

A lovely conversation ensued.

Did I say ensued?

Oh Susie Q, oh Susie Q

I like the way you talk

I like the way you walk.

I like the way you talk, the way you walk, oh Susie Q.

I listened to another CCR tune and have come up with a final answer.

Fogerty cannot pronounce anything that has an S in it.

Oh the Midnite “pecial” shine a  light on me.

It was getting late.

Andra’s pizza was getting cold, but then she always did like cold pizza.

Is it still Monday?

Is it really the last day of August?

Am I an illusion?

What is reality?

Has it really been 14 years since Susie Q, Andra and the chicken b. worked together?

Can someone do the needful thing and adopt me?

On another note, my cousin, Bill, from Washington DC sent me a message.

Everything ok?

Doing alright?

Retired yet?

My answers:

No , no, and no.

And just to let you know, Cuz Bill, you have always been “pecial” to me, even though there is a bad moon rising, so don’t go out tonight.

Bill, a retired history professor, merely said, “You know, Cuz, you have always been strange.”

I ended the chat with a few parting words:

You know, my dear Cuz, my family is gone.

My parents, my siblings, everyone has moved on.

So it’s you, my dear Cousin, who is left in my life.

I am taking a bus to DC tonight.

To move in with you and your lovely wife.

Guess what?

I will never hear from Cuz again in this life.

Remember this lesson to all those who care:

Families are great, but it’s friends who will be there.

And out on the lawn, there arose such a clatter,

I told my cousin, that, yes I am the mad hatter.

Good night, Anrdra,

Good night, Susie Q

Good night, Donald,

Good night, Mrs Kalibash, wherever you are.

 

Wolf

Leave a Reply

