Usually a Monday gets a bad rap.

And rightfully so.

It interrupts the cadence of the weekend.

It shrieks at 5am through an alarm clock.

It starts the weekly routine and count down.

If that isn’t enough,

Try adding injury to insult

What you promised on Friday didn’t happen.

What you thought had ended, popped out of it’s hole and saw its shadow.

What you had put aside, took on a life of its own

Down a slippery slope

Into the black hole

And sucked the life out of you.

Oh my, this can’t keep up all morning.

And then it was noon.

And then it was 3pm and then you realized that someone had eaten you for lunch

Your self esteem was free falling

You wondered if it was time to call it quits.

Not just for today, but for every day.

At 5pm, you walked out into the sunlight

For the first time in your career, you did not say goodnight to your coworkers.

You just wanted to leave

To get a break

To go somewhere where you could have some space

Where no one knew who you were or are and didn’t care

To take an hour to contemplate

Before venturing home to face the homeland crisis.

Hello!  I’m home!

How was your day?

Fabulous!

Couldn’t have been any better.

Somehow I don’t think you mean that.

How do you know these things?

I know, because I care about you, and I can tell. Want to talk about it?

No, I don’t need to, now that I know you understand that some days are like this.

Yeah, well, can you feed the cats? And get them fresh water? And while you are at it, get changed into your jammies and have yourself a beer.

And with that, I put on my pjs, had a beer and smiled.

I am home.

Can life get any better than that?

 

Wolf

Leave a Reply

