Wondering…. Should I have known I was a candidate for the flu?

I got a flu shot.

I washed my hands.

I had a positive outlook.

But when my throat started to hurt, I knew it was a sign.

We all have that sign, just before we get sick.

For me, it has always been a sore throat.

Starts out relatively mild and slowly gets crazy, raspy and dry as a bone.

In the midnight hour, I gave a rebel yell.

It’s back!

And I did not cry, “More, more, more.”

Once it hits, that’s it.

Time out.

Oops, I did it again.

Looking back, I was on a track of derailment.

I was burning out the day, and burning out the night.

4 days later:

Now it is subsiding, somewhat.

A nasty cough lingers.

Not my usual energy.

My eyes and ears and cheeks hurt.

I can’t wait to get back to normal.

It has been said that for everything there is a season.

We have our peaks and valleys, our happy times and our sad times.

Above all, we have our limitations.

When we exceed those limits, we just might get sick.

Geez, I hate to admit it, but I guess I need to cool it somewhat.

Yeah, that’s it.

Cool it.

And that is just what I will do….

When I get old.

 

 

Wolf

 

Leave a Reply

