Darkness.

It’s starting.

5pm.  Why so early?

I am not ready for November… and December.

The 2 darkest months of the year.

Drag out the lights.

Drape them around the house.

Light up.

So what if the days are getting shorter.

There are those who worship the dark knight…. or is it the dark night?

And then there are those who can’t see worth a @$@$!@% in the dark.

Hello, friends.

I drive home on a wing and a prayer.

If you happen to be a deer, lots of luck.

And I don’t own a bow and arrow or shot gun.

But somehow, Bambi, you are in my headlights.

Glazed eyes, gliding along, looking for love in all the wrong places.

OOps. Sorry that is me.

So now we are at odds.

The deer have no place to go.

They are creatures of the night and they love twilight.

Is that the way it will be?

Who will win, if we collide?

I don’t want your hide.

I just want to get home.

And I think that is what you want …. also.

But I don’t speak deer and you don’t speak human

So we dodge one another until we meet face to face.

Say you, say me…..

Or as the Outlaw Josie Wales once said:

Josie Wales: You be Ten Bears?
Ten Bears
: I am Ten Bears.
Josie Wales
: I’m Josey Wales.
Ten Bears
: I have heard. You are the grey rider. You would not make peace with the Bluecoats. You may go in peace.
Josie Wales
: I reckon not. I got no place else to go.
Ten Bears
: Then you will die.
Josie Wales: I came here to die with you. Or to live with you.”

So it is on this Monday, in November, that we live our lives, convinced that we control our own fate.

Until nature intervenes and darkness prevails.

We brace ourselves and confront the darkness.

Another season is upon us.

The dark season.

Why do we do this?

We have no other place to go.

Hey, Josie:  Can I ride with you?

And Josie, aka Life, says:  “You might as well ride along with us.  Hell, everyone else is.”

 

Wolf

 

 

Leave a Reply

