December 22, 2015:

Rainy

Mild

No winter wonderland.

Santa will be wearing shorts this Christmas.

I remember when I moved to Pennsylvania on December 1, 1990.

It was mild, foggy, rainy .

Now, 25 years later, a record high of 70 degrees forecast for the holiday.

Last year, I was stuck in my driveway, perched on a snow bank.

And the winter was brutally cold.

Looking back, have I changed, from that December in 1990?

Certainly, I am older, but probably not any wiser.

I have fewer family members now, with the loss of my Mother, 2 brothers and a sister.

I still love working, as it keeps me active and involved in life.

I pretty much do what I want to do, after working hours.

I take time each day to give myself a few hours of “space” and enjoy my own company.

Admittedly, I am a silly, playful old geezer, who loves almost everyone.

I have many acquaintances, but few close friends.

And those few friends are very special to me.

Material things mean very little.

But I do like having enough money to stop and have a few glasses of wine at the local pub.

I have found that humor and laughter is the key to enjoying life.

I have a confession to make, although I am reluctant to say it.

Yes, I do wish for a sprinkling of snow for Christmas Eve.

Just enough to cover the trees, grass and the roof tops, as Santa makes his way once again across Pennsylvania.  This year, with a full moon lighting his way.

Santa:  He never changes.

He looked the same in 1990 as he does now.

I ran into him the other day, as I was feeling slightly depressed.

As I walked through the park, a child was crying.

Suddenly a puppy appeared and ran up to the child, wagging his tail and licking the child’s face.

The child squealed with delight.

Santa winked at me.

I asked, “Are you real?”

Santa smiled at me, and said, “Only if you believe.”

 

 

Wolf

 

 

Leave a Reply

