Around these parts, folks serve pork and sauerkraut on new year’s day.

Supposed to bring luck.

Not sure what kind of luck.

Not to be outdone, I cooked up my version:  Pork roll and omelets.

And for dessert, a big fat apple pie with ice cream.

I love those pies that are bursting with apple slices.

The twilight zone had a marathon running on TV.

I never seem to tire of the episodes, even after 30 or 40 years of having seen them.

I think that is the true sign of a good movie/show/series.

It is enjoyable no matter how many times you see it.

Take the Chevy Chase Christmas Vacation movie, for example.

It’s funny, even though I have memorized the script and know what everyone will be saying.

The Walking Dead is showing a marathon today, also.

It seems to be very popular, but it just doesn’t appeal to me.

Maybe it’s because I am getting old and feel like I am half dead some days.

Or maybe I don’t want  to see a violent show in these unsettled days.

An escape back to the innocent times is my cup of tea.

Oh, by the way, I am not a tea person.

I only drink the stuff when I am sick.

Not sure why, but it seems like the thing to do.

I forgot to watch the Mummers parade.

I never have understood what a Mummer is.

However, they sure know how to wear feathers.

I wonder if they are tipping a few to get into those costumes.

My, but I am rambling today.

It is the day when we start on a fresh new year.

Some make resolutions to improve.

Others go on a wild exercise program, and eat beans and Brussels sprouts.

I haven’t made any resolutions for the new year.

I intend to take it day by day, simply enjoying life, and giving thanks for the opportunity to be alive in this amazing world.

As Willie once sang: ” We’ll raise up our glasses against evil forces
Singing whiskey for my men, beer for my horses.”

Cheers!

 

Wolf

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

