No, I am not going to write about David Bowie.

Sure, I am dismayed by his early demise.

But if he had lived another 20 years, I doubt that he would have influenced my life any more than he already has.

You see, he had the “it” factor.

He was an exciting entertainer, who was not afraid to go over the top.

Ok, so I am writing about him.

I can’t help it.

I want to put on my red shoes and dance the blues, under the serious moonlight.

I want my China Girl to tell me, “Oh baby, just shut your mouth.”

Hey, Major Tom, can you hear me?

I could go on and on.

I have friends who partied with him in NYC in the 80s.

I admired his red hair as Ziggy Stardust, and his camp look as he sang, “Let’s dance.”

Yeah, so I really liked David Jones Bowie.

And now, as ground control has lost contact with him, his fans are connecting with an icon who inspired us to be who we are, changing as the years passed.

He is traveling in space, in his tin can, as we all reach out to touch him, to give him our last farewell.

Can you hear me Major Tom?

If not, don’t worry.

I will always hear you.

 

Wolf

 

Leave a Reply

