Sometimes, going the extra mile, is not enough.

Evil spirits arise.

It is a @%5@%5@%@% up situation.

A distant voice alerts you to a situation.

The response is too late, too little and too far gone.

You rise to the occasion, assess the damage and realize that not even you, the ultimate chicken butt of customer service can undo what has been done.

However that does not deter you from doing something outside the norm.

Am I following protocol?

No.

Am I satisfied?

No.

Do I let it go and let the chips fall where they may?

No.

Is it true, Ms Chicken B, that you completely ignored your training and your processes to help someone who, earlier, tore you and your team a new one?

Yes.

Was it a satisfactory solution?

Maybe. It was a compromise,.

How did it make you feel?

Uneasy, but hopeful.

And your customer?

I can’t speak for my customer, but I did do everything I could do, to alleviate the situation.

And, Ms Chx Butt, did you do this alone?

No, I escalated the situation and was pleasantly supported by the response.

What the hell does that mean?

Simple:  If you have a VP who will support you  and your outrageous solutions, you are one lucky SOB.

And? The result?

Yet to be determined, but I feel good about what happened.  A win/win, after a lose/lose.

So what about tomorrow?

Oh shut the hell up.

You can’t shut me up.  I am your conscience.

Then quit talking.

Hate to admit it, but I will be there tomorrow, the next day and every day of your life.  I am your conscience and the key to your character.  I will be observing your behavior and your decisions.  As Pink Floyd sang:

All you touch and all you see is all your life will ever be…..

Yeah. Ok. I can somewhat agree with that.  But then there are the possibilities…  And the older I get the more I realize that the only limitations to our dreams and our lives, reside within us.   It is not about money, fame, nor wealth.  It is all about enjoying every moment in the days of our lives, and allowing all of those who interact with us, to be who they are.

You are so naïve, Chick B.  Don’t you know that trusting others will be your demise?

It’s ok.  It doesn’t matter.  Like me?  Tolerate me? Love me?  or Hate me?  I have not yet met a person I did not like.

Have you considered you may be a mad hatter?

“Have I gone mad?”
Alice: “I’m afraid so. You’re entirely bonkers. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.”

 

Wolf

 

Leave a Reply

