The 18th of May, 2016.

Someone looked at me today and said: “I can’t believe you are still alive.”

I thought about that statement and have 2 possible conclusions:

I am so old that I defy the odds.

Or I am burning out the day, burning out the night, waiting for the moment when I go out in a blaze of glory.

Getting old is a bitter sweet experience.

Granted, I am still hanging around, terrorizing those who happen to get in my way.

And yes, I am addicted to nonsense, as a crazy lunatic.

So what?

I am thinking back to the days when I was a subservient, meek, child.

A sickly, weasel like goof, who spent her days at jr and sr high, playing that TW#E2#%52%2% oboe in the orchestra, and working at Ma Bell 3 nights a week.

Oh yeah, and then, a few years later, enter the idiot.

And for the past 40 years, I have been practicing to become the most obnoxious, crazy, irreverent nincompoop that the world has ever seen.

Hey, kids!

Welcome to my world.

Gone are the days of obedience, conformity and sucking up to the establishment.

Oh what a wonderful feeling, to connect with everyone I meet, to share a laugh or two, and to accept those who cross my path, with unconditional love.  Ok, like, in some cases.

Yup. Still alive.

Defying the odds.

Can’t wait to face another day.

It is always a privilege, a gift, a wondrous thing:  To have another day on this planet, with so many wonderful people, at work or at leisure, making the most of every minute.

And in the evening, when the day is done, I kick back and smile.

Another fabulous day in the life of the Chicken Butt.

 

Wolf

 

Leave a Reply

