Sometimes, the manic side of my personality takes a dive and I take life seriously.

I will let you in on a little secret:  When I was in school, the teachers used to say that I would succeed in this life, because I took everything so seriously.

What in the hell happened?

Work hard, they said and you will succeed.

Work is serious business.

There is no time for laughing and socializing.

At 16 years old, a Junior in High School, the Bell System got ahold of me.

Boot camp at Ma Bell was all about discipline, restraint, and conformance.

Somehow, I managed to scoot through the system, as a rebel, rising up the ladder to the point where I could affect others.

Oh my.

What a mistake.

The core values just didn’t do it for me.

Strict discipline.

No chatting with co workers.

Keep your conversations with customers to 21 seconds.

There is no excuse for being late.

No flex time.

Work every holiday.

If you have a family, and your child is sick, arrange for alternative care.

You are needed, on the job, on your job, every day, without exception, come rain, shine or 4 occurrences.

On one hand, I enjoyed working with people.

On the other, I just couldn’t treat people like robots.

As the years passed, I grew more and more dysfunctional.

And finally quit.

The traditional people said: “Good, that goof is gone.”

Those who knew there had to be another way, were disappointed, and thought I had abandoned them.

I took a customer service job at 1/4 my salary, serving customers every day, in my own way, making them feel special and valued.  And I loved it.

16 years later, I am still loving it.

Moral of the story?

There is a difference between a job and a career.

Find what it is that makes you feel good, challenges you to do better and allows you the freedom to succeed.

And go for it.

Manic?

Yes, I am.

But girrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrl,  I just can’t get much higher.

 

Wolf

 

 

Leave a Reply

