What does it take to have a passion?

I have seen those on the streets, preaching, or going house to house, on a mission.

Giving out tickets, for God, as Elton John has said.

I guess that works with some people.

Then there are those who believe in a product.

They will contact everyone they know.

They are pumped up, brain washed, and ready to reach out to those who are willing to listen.

The reward is usually monetary.

The effort is rewarded at every step:  Recognition, prizes, money, prestige.

And then there are those who are trying to escape reality.

Enter the clowns, the musicians, the drunks, the druggies, the politicians.

Ah life!

Once in awhile, an individual emerges.

He or she has the “it” factor.

He or she has risen from the ashes of the past.

Anything to feel good.

Anything to be a star.

Anything to rise to the top.

Passion.

It is a blessing and a curse.

The prize?

Hey!  I made it.

I am admired.

I am a rock star.

I am a successful business woman/man.

I am rarely home.

Oh, we take a fabulous vacation every year.

But it is never enough.

The child is father of the man.

I love my family.

I rarely see my family.

I am a star.

I am on the road.

My mission is bigger than I am.

Success is not always what it is cracked up to be.

Oh the price of success.

How bitter sweet.

May I suggest that we meet some night, with our families around a camp fire with burnt marshmallows and ghost stories?

And forget about who or what we have become?

Do we need to travel to the outer banks and rent a house for several thousands of dollars for a week?

Or do we just invite our friends into our back yard?

Bring your tents, friends.

We just may have a lot more than you realize…. to share.

 

Wolf

Leave a Reply

