Last day.

Alone.

Well, with the cats.

They are looking for Jim.

Who are you?

Oh no!

It’s you!

Well, I am all you have now, so…..

Not acceptable.

Pinty is in my face.

Geez.

Get me out of here, he says.

I open the door.

Hey Puff!

Can I brush you?

She sasses me and goes in the corner, in the spot light, losing her religion.

Pets grieve, as they long for their daily ritual.

Hey guys!

What about me?

Not now.

Not ever.

We want Jim.

I agree.

But Jim has lived his life.

Now its up to us.

Pinty goes outside.

Puff hides.

Jim is gone.

And the cats?  Well, they are stuck with the chicken butt.

I think we need to come to a compromise.

Life, as we know it, has changed.

Are you up for it?

You don’t have to answer.

Let’s just take it one day at a time.

No, they say.

You are no JFK.

You are no Jimmy Brennan.

Feed me.

And leave me alone, to grieve.

I can do that.

Hey PD and HP:  Take your time.

You’re damn right.

You are no replacement for Jim.

There is never a replacement for those you have loved.

It’s ok.

Life goes on….. if you are up to the challenge.

 

Wolf

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

