Hey, what’s with the wind these days?

Went out at noon and had to find my tiger hat, to protect the old noggin from the elements.

Good thing I keep at least 12 hats in the car, just in case I need a disguise.

Kat gave me the tiger hat.

She left it on my desk last year, on a January day, thinking I would never find out who left it.

But I did.

Then, there is the penguin hat.

Gina!

Yes!

My 3rd year wearing this little gem, and loving it.

Oh wait!

The polar bear hat (s).

I have 2.

Both are adorable. and when someone comments, I always have the same retort:  “Yes, I am bi polar.”

Recently, I have added a chicken hat, a rooster hat and a horse head to my collection.

Heather is responsible for the chicken, Pat, for the rooster, and the horse? Well… that’s another story.

Wherever I go,  someone always says:  “Hey! Nice hat!”

I wonder about that.

I mean, come on.  An old bag wearing an animal hat?

If you must know the truth, I have turned into my Mother.

Geez.

She always wore a hat.

Not the animal types.

Just hats.

To church.

Every day.

She was a saint.

Oh boy.

I wonder if she is up in heaven, checking me out as I wear these obnoxious hats to the bars every night.

If so, Hey Mom!

Cheers!

I am still here, on this planet, working every day, wearing hats and drinking myself into obscurity.

Loving every minute!

By the way, your chicken and dumplings?

Still a big hit.

I have the recipe.

Hope you are enjoying eternity….. and wearing a new hat every day.

Hey!  What the heck is this life all about, anyway?

What?

Mom has spoken:  Here is what she said:

It’s about being alive.

Enjoying every moment.

Living in the now.

My question:

And the past?

Mom :

The past is the past.

Ok.

But….

“Just  enjoy where you are, who you are and what you are, as long as you are still alive and on this planet.”

“But… Mom, I miss you.”

“Yeah, well?  Ok.  I think you do, but ….the choices you make and the way you live your life will always be a reflection on me.”

With that, the Chicken Butt ordered another margarita, with salt and danced on the bar.

Oh, life!

What a hoot you are.

By the way, Mom headed out for bingo, wearing a skunk hat.

 

Wolf

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

