Now that the patient has raised her head off the pillow, after 3 nights and 4 days of obnoxious coughing, life slowly begins to refocus.

Having a severely elderly body is not a good thing, when the hoo doo hits.

Reminds me of CCR; ” I can remember the fourth of July, runnin’ through the backwood bare.
And I can still hear my old hound dog barkin’, chasin’ down a hoodoo there,
Chasin’ down a hoodoo there.”

So, the hoodoo had me in his clutch since Wednesday.

Fortunately, I did not OD on over the counter meds as I painfully counted the minutes and hours, on the last day I worked.

As soon as I got home, it took me all of 5 minutes, to feed the cats, get changed and hit the hay.

It is Saturday now.

I am still around.

The winds are howling, the temps have dropped and this old c butt is singing a new song:

“Hey, if you happen to see the most beautiful girl in the world……..”

Yeah, it ain’t me.

But having a positive attitude is a signal that my nine lives are not yet over.

Shoot.

Cats have 9 lives.

Not sure about chicken butts.

Oh well.

I made the supreme sacrifice and went to the store for cat food and treats.

I am such a martyr.

On the way back home, I was parched, so I stopped for a glass of vitamin C and a take out of spaghetti and meat balls.

The Oh Wow cat took off, as soon as he saw me, thinking, I am sure, that his vigil with the dying butt has ended, and he is, once again, free falling.

Puff hissed at me to let me know that normalcy has returned.

Such loyal pets, cats are.

You see, the cats keep me around, for their survival, comfort and feeding frenzies, all the while, pretending to give a rat’s ass about me.

Ok, so tonight?

Yeah, alright.

One more meal.

Come and get it.

Yes, I know.

As Mick sings,  “Under my thumb….”

 

Wolf

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

