Cats show up at our doorsteps, as kittens.

Lost, crying, hungry.

10 years later, they are still with us.

Still crying.

Still hungry.

But they have captured our hearts.

And we cater to their finicky ways.

“Oh?  So you don’t like this chicken Florentine anymore?”

“Let me run out and get you the tuna supreme, or the lobster broth.”

Actually, my latest grocery store runs have been for cat food.

If they have food, I am happy.

Of course, I have beer and wine, so, that makes everything even better.

As a child, and a young adult, I did not relate to cats.

Never had one.

Only dogs.

Now, as an old bag, I have cats.

Call me a crazy cat lady.

I like and admire the characteristics of a cat:

They are tenacious, cunning, curious, playful, lazy, independent, and really quite beautiful.

But they do have claws.

And they are not afraid to use them.

Ha!

Cats!

A unique creature of the universe.

And I personally know two of them, who are friends of mine.

 

Wolf

One thought on “Cats 101

  1. Brilliant! I really enjoyed reading this. Thanks for sharing! We have just rescued three siblings, Ziggy (tabby) and his two black sisters (Nera and Ebony). They are in hiding at the moment! I have a poetry blog here on WordPress and this week’s poems are all about cats in case you have time to read? Have a good day, Sam 🙂

Leave a Reply

