What’s that song?

Make new friends, but keep the old? One is silver and the other gold.

So tonight, I am saying goodbye to 2 unlikely friends.

One is a kid, the other works for him….. not a kid.

From what I understand, they had a hell of a time getting to understand one another, work together and eventually become buddies.

And now, those 2 rock.

They work on construction projects across the nation, away from home for weeks at a time.

Eventually, they wind up in Chicken Butt territory, and are part of the “family.”

The young boss had a very difficult time clicking with Mr. Doug, who is probably 20 years his senior, and most likely, doesn’t like to take direction from a kid.

However, I have seen them for the past month or so, on several Monday nights, together, enjoying one another’s company.

How did that happen?

I wonder which one should have the kudos:

The young boss?

Or the seasoned older worker.

One was defiant.

The other insistent.

They work together.

The job is done.

A quote from the two:

“If and when we finally get to tolerate one another, we go out, have a few beers and enjoy.”

And they do.

They are moving on, to Maryland.

Another warehouse?

I don’t know.

I just know that I will miss them and the way their chemistry makes them a heck of a lot of fun.

They say they will be back, to visit.

I doubt it.

I hope they find a new “home” away from home, with good people who appreciate meeting new hard working friends.

You can’t tell a book by its cover?

Oh yes you can.

These 2 were always outgoing, fun, and positive, and made me laugh.

Best wishes to you two.

Pennsylvania (and I ) will miss you.

 

Wolf

 

Leave a Reply

