As we slip into Autumn, I feel like being a star.

Do you?

Let me ask:

Drifter, can you make folks cry when you play and sing?
Have you paid your dues?
Can you moan the Blues?
Can you bend them guitar strings?

Boy, can you make folks feel what you feel inside?
‘Cause if you’re big-star bound, let me warn you it’s a long, hard ride.

As I drift through this life, I have attained a certain status:

When I sing, people moan and cry.

My guitar is so out of tone, that I bend those guitar strings.

And do folks feel what I feel inside?

I hope so.

I greet most everyone who happens to pass me by.

The long hard road?

Hells bells, we could swap stories all night about our hard roads.

Some of us, even U2 haven’t found what we’re looking for.

However, on this night, Monday, Oct 23rd, the day Christine was born, those 3 doubles gave me the courage to bend those strings, to moan the blues and to act like the idiot I have always  been.

I wonder, however, if Old Hank did it this way, crying over that damn bird, drinking his ass off, sitting out in the middle of nowhere, talking to the whipper snappers or whatever the hell they were, in a lonesome state of mind.

Moral of the story:  Drinking is good.

I think I will toast to old Hank and his cheating heart.

xoxooxoxox

Wolfie

 

 

Leave a Reply

